#ErijiyanFactor: Introduction to “Erijiyan Factor”

er 2-6Everyone wanted to be sent to the big and well known cities to serve during the NYSC programme. Most of us were utterly disappointed when we were taken to the remote villages to carry out this national assignment for the next one year.

I felt I had gone back in time when I arrived at my place of Primary assignment, Erijiyan-Ekiti in Ekiti State and was prepared to and did hate the place on sight.

The first night was spent tossing and turning, wondering how I was ever going to survive, especially since most networks were dead here and my phone was quite useless to me.

Most of the older corps members laughed at our fears and swore the place would grow on us. They tried all they could to give us a soft landing, thereby making our stay easier.

Now, many months into the programme, we have grown to see Erijiyan as an extension of ourselves.

I grew up in Lagos, attended primary and secondary schools there and had my tertiary education in the eastern part of the country. These places have in one way or the other contributed to who I am today. I suppose this place, no matter how remote or poor would have few things to teach me before I leave and I, in some way have something to give back.

Hence, The Erijiyan Factor.

Adaeze Ifejilimalu (@Dazee_Zita)

6 thoughts on “#ErijiyanFactor: Introduction to “Erijiyan Factor””

  1. I was wondering where the rest was till I went back to the title and saw introduction. I hope it won’t be a ‘longa throat’ series sha. Lol. Nice start.

Leave a comment